I’m Undecided And That’s OK by Lily Roth

“What do you plan to study in college?”

“No clue, I’m undecided.”

This exchange occurs about twice a day every day. I never viewed the word “undecided” as a negative thing, but apparently, I missed the memo that “undecided” is a shocking and terrible thing for adults or peers to hear. My undecidedness should not merit any of the following responses.

“Don’t worry you have plenty of time to figure that out before heading to school!”

“Oh, that’s okay! Don’t stress about it.”

“Ah, I’m so sorry, I bet you’ll find your way.”

I swear, the next time someone replies in this way I might just #go #off. My undecidedness should not merit any of those responses because I am proud of my undecidedness. It gives me the freedom to explore, create, and test out new and interesting things. Why is it such a terrible thing that I don’t know what I want to spend my life doing? Is it such an outrageous thought that maybe I want to spend my life changing professions, trying new things, and following all of my passions?

Bravo to you if you have your mind set on one thing and one thing only. I hope you thrive and remain happy in that field for the rest of your life. But a student or professional should never be looked down upon for having multiple passions they want to pursue. In fact, I think these people should be admired and cheered on by the rest of the world.

I am undecided and proud. I won’t let anyone else take that away from me.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *