The Future by Phillip Kalafatis

I am not scared of many things but the future does unnerve me. It’s probably because there is so much we don’t know. That I don’t know. I don’t necessarily want to know what is going to happen to me or the world; I’m afraid because anything can happen.

Literally, anything can happen in one year, let alone eighty. There are infinite possibilities for wonderful things to happen and infinite possibilities for horrible things to happen.

I think I know what I want to do in life but in the next four years, that could all change. I entered high school wanting to be a biologist and left it wanting to be a writer.

I will most likely enter college thinking I want to do such and such or be a so and so, but I honestly don’t know.

I think it’s safe to say that most people are unnerved by the unknown. I like to think that it’s human to fear what we don’t know, and what could happen because at any moment anything could happen.

My whole life could change in a flash.

And that scares me.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *