Top Moments from Matilda the Musical That Had Me Sobbing By Elliot Rendall

         In honor of Matilda the Musical making up a solid majority of my current music, here are the top moments from the new movie that made me cry like a baby. Now lets be real, I cried through that whole movie- me and my mom have a very deep connection to this musical and we have been anxiously awaiting the release of it. I think we might have been  looking forward to Matilda on Christmas more than our presents. But here are the parts that quite literally broke me. 

 

  1. Starting off strong with the opening number. It consists of children and parents talking about how much of a miracle their child is- how wonderful and lovely and perfect they are. Then, once we arrive at Matilda, we hear her say “My mummy says I’m a jumped up little germ, that kids like me, should be against the law”. The fact that this beautiful, little child thinks all these horrible things about herself? Emotionally devastating. 
  2. As a kid who grew up very little with a very big personality, the song ‘Naughty’ always hits a bit too close to home. Little eight year old me would sing my little heart out. “A storm can begin, with the flap of a wing, the tiniest might packs the mightiest sting!”
  3. Little Bruce absolutely LEADING the revolution for these kids is my favorite thing. Everyone is cheering him on, just hoping for him to be the one to challenge Trunchbull’s reign. “We never thought it was possible- but here it is coming true: we can have our cake and eat it too!”
  4. When I Grow Up has always been a song that hit me in the heart, even when I was little. But as someone who has freshly turned eighteen, looking at colleges and planning the next phase of my life, the lyrics, “when I grow up, I will be brave enough to fight the creatures underneath the bed each night to be a grown up” hit a little bit harder than usual.
  5. For those of you who don’t know the plot of Matilda- she tells a story of a man and his daughter, who has been hurt by her aunt. The song ‘I’m here’ is the father, Magnus’s song where he comforts her, saying “don’t cry, I am here, little girl” and promising to protect her from any harm. I cry every time. 
  6. If I had to describe what overstimulating anxiety felt like, the song ‘Quiet’ would feel like an accurate description. Matilda talks about this overwhelming feeling over everyone shouting, saying, “this noise becomes anger, and the anger is light, and it’s burning inside me would usually fade, but it isn’t today” getting progressively more and more upset before everything finally just goes…quiet. 
  7. Personally, I have always found Miss Honey’s character boring- but the new movie’s portrayal has completely changed that for me. One song I didn’t expect to love as much as I did was ‘My House’, where she describes her humble home. It is such a lovely depiction of a life I will always find in my dreams. “It isn’t much, but it is enough for me.”
  8. This isn’t even a song, but the moment where these kids think they’ve defeated the Trunchbull and her chokey, and then the feeling when she reveals a new chokey for every child sends chills down my spine. Not tears of sadness, but tears of pure terror. The Trunchbull scares me y’all. (Emma Thompson is a queen though).
  9. While ‘Revolting Children’ is mostly a comedic song, Bruce singing “never again will I doubt it when my mummy says I’m a miracle” breaks me just a little bit. Seeing these kids start to deconstruct all the hurtful things put in their minds is so healing.
  10. Many may say that ‘Still Holding My Hand’ is a throw away song, and while it may have been a last minute addition, I actually love this song. The pure joy that radiates off of this, and their voices, absolutely shines. 

 

I hope you’ve enjoyed this list of me losing my mind over this movie- and that you consider watching this absolute masterpiece of a film. Just understand that mentioning it around me automatically puts you in the splash zone. 

One thought on “Top Moments from Matilda the Musical That Had Me Sobbing By Elliot Rendall

  1. I’m going to be honest – I hate musicals. I know, I know. What is wrong with me? But, I’m glad that you have something that brings you so much joy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *