Litmus Tests by Jaimee Martin

Litmus Paper and the Litmus Test

I am an obsessive person. Every assignment takes me four hours, every idea or object has value, and every person is significant for something. My obsession is helpful when I need to be a critical thinker because the deeper meanings of the world seem to unfold so easily in front of me, which is a skill I am proud of. However, it holds me back when mixed with perfectionism and white society, creating a perfect storm that most often ends in procrastination of my ‘responsibilities’ and emotions; Like I said, every assignment takes me four hours. In my (reality) life, my obsessive personality fuels my love for history and sociology because I crave humanity in this way. I have an undying–as obsession tends to be–need to know people on an individual and macro scale. This gives me purpose and I think it is my way of finding success.

In my relationships, obsession becomes a sort of litmus test. I just need to know everything about a person–their life, personality, vulnerabilities, vices–everything, because, again, to connect with someone is to really know them, and to really know them is to have purpose. However, despite everyone being significant for something, not everyone has layers, and thus, obsession is my way of deciding which people I can really know and connect with. Here, from my Notes, is my list of ‘litmus tests’, or all the questions that I ask people to decide whether they have layers and if they’re able to meet my obsession.

 

what are foods you used to love when you were a child that you don’t like now? why?

what are foods that you used to hate as a child that you love now? why?

what does love mean to you? what is the criteria?

have you ever stuck gum to a desk or chair? what was the situation?

what’s your favorite temperature and climate? (no ranges, exact degrees only)

how many languages do you speak? why those languages?

being on your phone or watching tv?

what’s your go-to ice cream flavor? how did that happen?

are there people you want to love but can’t? why?

can you say ‘how much wood can a wood chuck chuck, if a wood chuck could chuck wood’?

what is your most treasured memory? most awful?

what is your favorite cleaning product? why do you like it?

what is your favorite holiday? why?

when’s the last time you peed your pants? what was the situation?

what is your favorite corner of the internet? how did you find it?

tell me something you’ve never told another soul?

what’s your favorite social media? why?

what’s your love language?

what is something about the way your parents raised you that you don’t want to pass on to your own children (if you want to have children)? how would you do it differently?

what’s the weirdest thing you own?

do you like reality tv? what’s your favorite show?

i wish i had someone with whom i could share….

what’s the best brand of hand sanitizer? why?

what are your biggest fears? (non-serious and serious)

do you like to reminisce? about what?

what is the worst lie you have ever told your parents?

texting or calling? why?

what is your flirting style?

what would you regret telling someone if you died?

what is your favorite exercise? why?

who is/are your celebrity crush(es)?

are you obsessive? why/why not? what do you obsess over?

what’s your biggest romantic failure?

what is your movie taste? favorite movies?

what’s your go-to throwback that comes into your head? why?

have you ever lied to your best friend? why? what was it about?

when’s the last time you cried? alone? with someone?

what kind of music do you listen to? favorite artists?

what is your litmus test for a person? like would you want to know about someone that would be a dealbreaker to determine whether or not you can have a relationship with them?

One thought on “Litmus Tests by Jaimee Martin

  1. These are great. Are you considering a career in therapy or counseling? Because I think you can really peek into the inner core of someone with the “when did you last pee your pants?” followed by the “favorite ice cream flavor?” combo! LOL.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *