Longing for Summer by Sonali Khatri

I am so excited for the summer. For the first time in four years, I think this is the first summer I can pretty much do nothing. As I write this blog in April (while it’s snowing outside) I can’t help but daydream about the things that summer brings:

snow falling from the SWC window on April 18

I love the smell that wafts into my house when the windows are open. It smells fresh and sweet and really there’s no way to describe it exactly. It’s like a mixture of nature and laundry and it’s the same every year. I know the first time I get a hint of it good things are coming.

I can’t wait to use the lawnmowers and chirping birds as natural alarm clocks. In fact, I’m excited to get rid of the feeling of always having to be on time. Time is something that I feel I never have enough of. During the summertime though, the sun creeps down at 8:30 and by the time you wake up at noon, you still have a whole day ahead of you filled with sunshine.

Summer is time for a cultural reset, and new obsessions:

I wonder what show I’ll binge this year with my sisters. Last year it was Downton Abbey and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I wonder what my room will look like; It becomes my sanctuary for 3 months and usually looks completely different by the end of August each year. I wonder what my summer playlist will be. Right now I associate summer 2021 with Blondie, Heart, Fleetwood Mac, and the Cocteau Twins.

The spontaneity of plans and vacations. I love leaving for trips that were planned 1-2 days beforehand. Driving in the fast lane the whole way to the destination and blaring music. Rolling the windows down wearing sunglasses while my hair blows every which way.

The acquired skills. Will I finally become good at tennis? A faster reader? A good baker? I don’t know for sure but at least I have 90-ish days to find out.

Just being outside all day. Long walks with my sister that go on for hours. Sitting on my patio. Throwing water balloons at my cousins. Going to the pool. Laying in the fresh-cut grass or hammocks. Sitting by the fire pit at night and watching fireflies.

For now, though, I guess I’ll have to get through April. Let’s hope that April snowfalls bring May flowers.

One thought on “Longing for Summer by Sonali Khatri

  1. You just gave me a serious case of senioritis. And at my age, that is really confusing. Seriously, though, I’m in the same place as you with having a less-planned summer than usual, and I CAN’T WAIT!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *