Please Don’t Make New Year’s Resolutions by Julia Mennes

As we begin the final week before winter break, we are getting dangerously close to the season of New Year’s Resolutions. To put it simply, I find them useless and annoying. To me, they seem like a more socially acceptable way to brag about the goals you know you will never stick to. Resolutions make it seem like you are broken and need fixing, when in reality, you probably just want to better yourself.

Think back to your list of resolutions from last year (I know you had one). Did you seriously follow through on any of them? I definitely didn’t. In fact, I have a hard time even remembering my many ambitions for the year. If you can genuinely say you followed through on your resolutions, good for you! But, if you’re like most of us, you probably either gave up or forgot about it completely. Most of the time, people give up on their resolutions because they attempt to make too extreme of changes, and they get burnt out. This year, start small. Set mild goals that are actually achievable, and they just might make it past February! 

I do not say this to shame anyone, but instead to draw attention to the fact that setting unrealistic goals is not required just because the calendar tells us it’s a new year. I get it, “new year, new me” and all, but try to stay away from the shameful world of New Year’s resolutions. If you are determined to make changes in your life, turn your aspirations into goals with a specific plan. But whatever you do, don’t stress yourself out with a lengthy list of unrealistic resolutions. Your life does not need to be resolved! 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *