Ponderings by Nora Konrad

Am I really in charge of my own life?

I better be. 

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about the trajectory of my life. 

Do I really want to go to college or am I just following the path that’s been laid out for me? At least in my experience, my experience of being a white IB student at Shaker, I think college is just assumed. And I believe the certainty of education is a good thing. Everyone should have the opportunity to be educated. I want to go to college. But I want it to be my choice. I don’t want to go to college just because that’s what’s expected of me. 

Recently I’ve realized how much of my life I have spent following other people and worrying about what other people thought of me. That’s not the person I want to be anymore. 

Maybe this is all just super existential, and proof that I am still living in my head. I don’t really know, but I thought it was worth sharing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *