A Letter to My Future Self in 10 Years by Kiara Patterson

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dear me in 10 years,

I hope all is going well. If you happened to forget, it’s me, Kiara, your 17 (almost 18) year old self. I’ve been thinking about you a lot recently and I would like to know some things. First off, how are we doing? Did we get into our dream college and finish with a bachelor’s degree in journalism and a PhD in psychology? What are we like? What has changed? It’s wild what 10 years can do to a person. Your almost 28 now and you’re in the prime of your life!

I hope we are still our most confident, fun, intelligent, caring and charismatic self. I also hope that mom has been less hovering over our life, aka calling every minute we aren’t with her; that can be so annoying sometimes! Dad said he was going back to school to get his PhD before I turned 25, did he really do it? I wonder if we grew any taller? I like being 5’6” and three quarters so please tell me we haven’t. By now, I’m sure with our aspirations you are living it up somewhere in New York or Chicago, hosting your own show or anchoring the news — yes I have those kinds of expectations for you, so get on with it if you haven’t already. I’m sure we have the smartest, cutest and wealthiest boyfriend around, I mean come on, who could resist us?

Future me, above all, I hope you are happy and healthy. I hope life is treating you well. I’m sure much has changed as we matured but I also hope much is still the same. I hope you stayed connected with our friends from high school and college and kept those important to us close. Always let our voice be heard and never give up. I hope you continue to pursue your dreams, create change and make a difference. The world is your oyster, so take advantage of it.

Love,

17, 11 months, 3 weeks and 28 days year old you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *