A New Tomorrow by Ian Marr

 

 

Welp. I’ve done it. This is what I’ve been working towards for the past four years. In three days, I’ll be signing out and putting my high school experience behind me. My memories, my friends, my struggles… it’s about time to wipe the slate clean and start again.

 

……………

 

What have I gotten myself into?

It’s taken me years to grow accustomed to my surroundings at Shaker High. My most precious friends and the people I can’t stand… they’re all equally familiar and valuable in their own ways. How unfair is this? To know that I’ll soon be forced to part with the people who have made me who I am today?

 

 

 

 

 

I know I’m simply deluding myself.

 

All of my past experiences these years have been preparing me for this moment. Preparing me to take that next step into the unknown. Preparing me to make new memories while cherishing the old ones. Even though it hurts to leave so much behind, I know that this parting doesn’t have to be forever. And, looking ahead, I have a feeling that the best years of my life are still yet to come.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *