Peace, Love, Plants by Ava Byrne

I am a self described plant mom. I have around fourteen potted plants at various places around my room. The other day, I was thinking about how I would have to leave most of my plants at home when I go to college. I was so sad and of course the obvious course of action is to buy another plant, which is exactly what I did. So I thought why not write my blog about plants. My plant obsession started a few years ago with a succulent and my collection grew to the 14 assorted potted plants I have today. In my humble opinion I think everyone should have at least one potted plant. Here’s why.

  1. They’re super cute. You cannot argue with me on this. Need to spruce up your room? Boom potted plant.
  2. They reduce anxiety and stress- According to a study published in the Journal of Physiological Anthropology, interacting with houseplants, like touching, watering, etc, can reduce physiological and psycological stress.
  3. You can give them silly names. I personally have an Aloe Vera plant named Queen Latifah and a cactus named Jorge.
  4. It feels nice to take care of something and see it grow.
  5. Your parents won’t let you get a dog? Fill that puppy shaped void in your heart with lots and lots of plants.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *