High School in Halloween Costumes by Lindsey Cicero

 

Since I was born I have always dressed up for Halloween. Even when I was too young to go trick-or-treating, my parents would wrap me up in some bear onesie or a puffy pumpkin dress. Although Halloween festivities have been a constant in my life, it wasn’t until about middle school when I really began to love the holiday and plan out my own costumes. This love of Halloween has followed me all throughout high school, and now that it is my senior year, I feel like it is a good time to reflect back on high school through my Halloween costumes.

Freshman year: a vampire. My first year I went pretty tame. Donning an all-black outfit I planned to stalk the school halls as a classic Halloween monster. Of course, it wasn’t that simple. Using my love for special effects makeup and the skills I had been building through all of middle school, I stuck in my specially molded fangs and created some bite marks on my neck to complete the look. Nothing too complicated, but still fun, a great start to high school.

Sophomore year: attacked Little Red Riding Hood. Talk about an upgrade. Determined to step up my game from the previous year, I woke up bright and early. I fashioned a big prosthetic onto my face, finishing with just enough time to put on my red hooded cape, before having to leave for school. This is probably the hardest I have ever worked on a costume, and I was so proud of how it turned out. Although my skin hated me for gluing a thick layer of silicon over it and then proceeding to wear said silicon all day, it all paid off because I made it into the yearbook! A spectacular sequel to freshman year.

Junior year: Heather Chandler. This was the first year of high school Halloween that I didn’t use any special effects makeup. However, I made up for the lack of gore with accuracy to the original character. I also managed to convince my friends to join me so we could be all three Heathers and Veronica. We nailed our costumes and strutted the school with all the sass a Heather would have. A fun mature change in costume fit for a junior.

Senior year: you will have to wait and see.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *