Will I Ever Get Onto Broadway? No. by Victoria Helmick

Being a musical theatre fan can be a lot of work. New music is constantly released, or there are rising musicals that are not given enough exposure yet and you want to be the first to tell your friends about it. Yet, you cannot sing the right tune to Happy Birthday without sounding like a dying cat. 

My love for Broadway is indescribable, and I listen to soundtracks any moment I can. I always fantasize about being on Broadway, performing live on stage, or even winning a Tony award. But of course, a reality check is inputted, and I am reminded that my sister took all of the singing genes from my mother, and did not share any with me. 

My first encounter with musical theatre was when my stepdad, at the time my mother’s soon-to-be husband, took my mom, sister, and me to see a tour production of Wicked. I was extremely excited to see a live performance for the first time in my life. At the time I was about 8 years old, so my expectations were not very high. When we arrived at the theatre we ushered our way to our seats. We sat down and immediately the entire room went dark and the show began. The musical was enlightening the entire 2 hours and 45 minutes. My 8-year-old self had no idea that soon my obsession with Broadway would begin. 

Today, if you were to ask me what my favorite musical of all time is, it would sadly not be Wicked. The musical that I go to sleep to every day would be Hadestown. This musical is one of my biggest obsessions and I am exceptionally excited to see it this Thanksgiving in New York. Set during the Great Depression, Hadestown centers on the two mythological love tales of Orpheus and Eurydice, and Hades and Persphone. Hadestown is an original story of how far people will go to save the ones they love. My passion for musical theatre will never die out, and every night I will sit in my room to new Broadway tunes, imagining that I am walking up to the stage of the Radio City Music Hall. 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *