Shackles and Chains by Monet Bouie

Shackles and Chains

By: Monet Bouie

Dear my brothers and sisters

We need to make a change

I am tired of being held back

By these shackles and chains

 

Taking the name that suppressed us

Is used now to progress us

But is still used to address us

Are still our shackles and chains

 

The taste of disgust from the sight of my brothers

Who devalue, debase, and destroy one another

Calling women sluts and whores included

But when it comes to your mother those names are excluded

These are our shackles and chains

 

And my sisters who slander themselves by the dozen

Light against dark between sisters and cousins

Because lighter is brighter, no darker is best

I can’t tell anymore like we’ve made no progress

These are our shackles and chains

 

Dear my brothers and sisters

We need to make a change

I am tired of being held back

By our shackles and chains

You need to make a change

Make that change

 

So what are you going to do about it?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *