A Love Letter to the Oxford Comma by Anabel McGuan

I am deeply, passionately, and unconditionally devoted to the Oxford comma. It’s such an underrated grammatical detail! The Oxford comma provides clarity and certainty that is otherwise impossible. I enjoyed a stint in the Shakerite, first as a Spotlight reporter, and then as a copy editor. During this time, I was forced to give up the Oxford comma. It was physically painful for me as a copy editor to go through stories and remove my beloved Oxford comma. My love for the Oxford comma never waned, however, and I continued secret rendezvous with it in my other classes, sneaking it into history and English papers alike. Though unnecessary for grammatical correctness, sentences feel wrong to me without it. I love the Oxford comma now, in the past, and forever.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *